Gluten Free Lefse

Hi!  I have moved.  You can find this post at angelaskitchen.com.

11 responses to “Gluten Free Lefse

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday - December 22, 2008 « Angela’s Kitchen

  2. This recipe has become my saving grace! My kids are on the wheat free, dairy free diet. I thought sandwiches were a thing of the past because we could not find bread my kids liked. I tried the lefse as a wrap and they love it! I have a solution for picnicn lunches this Summer, they like to take it in their school lunches and it has proved to be a quick breakfast on the run with butter spread and jelly. I even found the dough to be more manageable than my traditional lefse. I am very happy with this recipe.

  3. Do these freeze well? I’m trying this recipe for the first time this weekend!! Thanks for the recipe!
    Lisa

    • I have not frozen them as my family eats them up too quickly! I hope to get some made up next week (when everyone is out of the house!) for the upcoming holidays and freeze them. I plan on putting wax paper or parchment between the layers, wrapping in plastic wrap, then sealing in a zip closed freezer bag (removing all air possible before sealing). I would let them thaw before opening the package. Hope that helps!

  4. Hi Angela–I am trying this recipe and am really really having trouble with the stickiness, it’s sticking to everything! I tried putting it in the frige for a while, I tried adding more flour (1/4 c maybe?) and it’s worse…any suggestions? What did I do wrong?
    Thanks,
    Lisa

  5. The measurement in the recipe for the flour mix – is it 1 1/2 cups?

  6. Another option for making GF lefse is to use a small tortilla press. We make our lefse with just potatoes, GF baking mix and salt. Line the tortilla press with plastic wrap. Place a ball of dough on the press and flatten. (Using refrigerated dough is easier than room temperature dough.) Place the lefse onto the baking surface directly from the plastic wrap. It’s fast and easy and my family couldn’t distinguish between the GF and regular lefse. It is easier if you use a special, low lip pan for the baking part and I use a large spatula for turning instead of the traditional lefse sticks.

    Pressing rather than rolling allows for a more uniformly thin lefse (no more dried edges). The smaller pieces are easier to handle with no breakage and using the plastic wrap helps to avoid sticky surfaces.

  7. Thanks for posting this! I’m from ND and my dad is 100% Norwegian so of course lefse is in my blood. 🙂 But I’m a guy….so not very talented when it comes to cooking/baking. I’m looking for the easiest way possible to make some homemade GF lefse. Has anyone tried using gluten free Bisquick with this recipe? I know the GF Bisquick mix has Xantham Gum in it — so would it be best to leave out the 2 tsp of XG in the recipe?

Leave a comment